A California DUI is a serious offense that can lead to severe consequences. Every year, more than one million DUI arrests are made in the U.S., and approximately two-thirds of these arrests are committed by first-time DUI offenders. DUI investigations can occur for various reasons. One common reason why drivers are stopped is because of irregular driving patterns such as weaving, rapid braking or acceleration, or even driving too slowly. Police may even stop drivers for a traffic violation that initially had nothing to do with drunk-driving, or even by receiving an anonymous tip. Drivers aged 21 and over can be arrested for a DUI for operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. Meanwhile, drivers under the age of 21 are only allowed to have a BAC of 0.01%.
At the time of arrest, a police officer can ask you to perform three standardized field sobriety tests, including: the walk and turn test, the one leg stand test, and the horizontal gaze nystagmus test. Based on these outcomes of these tests, the officer can decide whether or not a DUI arrest should be made. You may also be asked to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test to determine your BAC. In California, the DMV may suspend or revoke your license, and issue a temporary one. The temporary license will expire after 30 days if no action is taken. To prevent loss of driving privileges, an administrative hearing must be made within 10 days of DUI arrest.
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence in California, you should seek an attorney specializing in drunk-driving law. The Kavinoky Law Firm specializes in DUI cases throughout the state of California. They have a proven track record of success and are committed to providing their clients with a relentlessly thorough defense. Please visit http://www.californiaduihelp.com/ for more information.